The Top 5 Twits who cried ‘Awesome’ too often.

No. I’m not going to list the Top 5 Twits who cried ‘Awesome’ too many times. This post is about time. My time. Your time. My time is very important to me. I assume your time is important to you as well. Regardless of what you do, most people understand the value of time.

Lately, I’ve been noticing an increase in social media traffic with links to articles I “have to check out” or are “must reads for [insert random profession here.]” Let’s not forget the “Top 5 [blanks] for [blanking]” Often the tweet or post is nothing more than a link to their own blog which then links to the article or video. In many cases, the status update or tweet is self promoting their latest blog entry, which is a great way to get a little bump in traffic for your blog. Unless it is coming from a prolific tweeter/updater/blogger who focusses more on volume than value.

I follow people on Twitter because I am interested in their perspective or ideas. I follow people from whom I can learn. Sometimes, I connect with people to engage them in discussion and develop a relationship. But my time is important and so is yours. I don’t post everything I read, or even everything I find interesting. If I did, people would ignore everything I said.

I pay more attention to people who post less, yet still manage to say more. Live blogging an event is the exception to this rule. I love a  good live blog from a good live blogger. (Follow @dweinberger Author of Small Pieces Loosely Joined and c0-author of The Cluetrain Manifesto for some good live event blogging.)

If you are fortunate enough to have a voice online, have something worthwhile to say and don’t say it too often.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment